Soil & Water Conservation legislative Day in Springfield

The Association of Illinois Soil and Water Conservation Districts (AISWCD), is a grass roots organization formed in 1948. It is made up and serves Illinois’ 98 member Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs). The AISWCD’s board members are representatives from local SWCD’s. Each local District is governed by an elected five member board. Members of each local board represent their district at the Land Use Council (LUC) level. Each of the 16 Council’s elects one Director to the voting body of the AISWCD Board of Directors.
Along with technical assistance the Illinois SWC Districts will help you with developing conservation planning and implementing conservation practices with help from the state and federal agencies.

Pictured (l-r) are Rep. Charlie Meier, Rep. John Cavaletto, and Judy & Tom Beyers from Marion County. The Beyers were in Springfield at the Capitol for Soil & Water Conservation Legislative Day. They are active in the Farm Bureau and sponsors of the 2016 Envirothon Compitition.

No comments :