Illinois State Police Fallen Troopers: I-57 Dedication Ceremony at Effingham County Cultural Center and Museum

This morning was the dedication ceremony for two fallen troopers from the Illinois State Police District 12 who both died in the line of duty. At Interstate 57 Mile Post 164.4 Northbound and Mile Post 168.1 Southbound, will be placed 'Trooper Layton T. Davis Memorial Highway' signs and at Interstate 57 Mile Post 151.3 Northbound and Mile Post 157 Southbound will be placed 'Trooper Frank Doris Memorial Highway' signs.

Thank you to the Effingham Sunrise Rotary Committee for the planning and hosting of the ceremony at the Effingham County Cultural Center and Museum. The Sunrise Rotary Committee included Kathy Schroeder, Dr. Paul Rhodes, Mel Stock, Dave Price, Dr. Kelly Stanfield, Doc Krahlman and Bill Totten. Other speakers included Jim Nieman (Effingham County Board Chair), Jeff Bloemker (Mayor-City of Effingham), and Mark Doris and Alan Davis (both sons of the fallen troopers).

God Bless America was performed by Sunrise and Noon Rotarians Jim Hecht, Matt Cekander and Greg Sapp.

Other elected officials in attendance were Representative David Reis (109th District) and Senator Dale Righter (55th District). Senator Kyle McCarter was represented by his legislative assistant, Tara Hall.